Administration of the University

University Registrar

The Registrar’s functions are the general administration of the University, the disciplinary matters of the non-academic staff, stewardship of the documents, reports and property, the supervision of the functions of the Bursar – under the directions and control of the Venerable Vice Chancellor.

He is an officer of the University appointed by the Council. He also functions as the Secretary of the Council and the Senate.

Registrar shall be appointed by the Council. He shall be a Buddhist and a full-time officer of the University and shall exercise perform and discharge such powers, duties and functions as may be conferred or imposed on or assigned to him by this Act or by any regulation.

  • The Registrar shall on behalf of the Council be responsible for the custody of the records and the property of the University.
  • The Registrar shall be the ex officio Secretary of the Council.
  • The Registrar shall be the Assistant Accounting Officer of the University.
  • The Registrar shall, subject to the direction and control of the Vice-Chancellor, be responsible for the general administration of the University and disciplinary control of its non-academic staff.

The officers who are in charge of each branch and assist the Registrar and work under his directions:

1. The Deputy Registrar
2. The Senior Assistant Registrar (Administration)
3. The Assistant Registrar (External Examinations)
4. The Assistant Registrar (Internal Examinations)
5. The Assistant Registrar (Academic and Student Services)

The students are advised to meet and discuss with the above named officers courteously and with gentleness, about the various services that have to be obtained from each branch for themselves.


The Bursar and the Assistant Bursar

The Bursar’s functions are to be in charge of the funds, and attending upon financial transactions of the University. He is an officer of the University appointed by the Council. An Asst. Bursar supports him.

All matters connected with disbursements, the supply of goods and services of the University are attended to by the Finance Branch. The payments made by the students can be directed to the Shroff’s Counter of the University in accordance with the nature of such payments.

Facilities have been provided to hand over the installments of the Mahapola Higher Education Scholarship and Students’ allowances on the due days through the Shroff.

The submission of recommendations and decision-making regarding the educational and administrative functions of the University are attended to by the Boards of Authority established in terms of the University Act.

Official Boards

  • The Council
  • The Senate
  • The Boards of Faculties

The officials of the University and the bearers of other posts who are responsible for the activation of these Boards and the compliance with their recommendations and decisions.

Academic Staff

Deans of the Faculties and the Heads of Departments

Each of the faculties of the University is administered by a Dean, who is the head of studies and administration of that faculty.

Each faculty consists of several departments relevant to the subjects taught in that faculty. The departments are severally under the heads of those departments, who are appointed by the Council.

At present this University consists of 2 faculties

  1. Faculty of Buddhist Studies
  2. Faculty of Language Studies


The Council of the University

This is the executive board and the ruling body of the University.

The Vice Chancellor is a member as well as the Chairman of the Council.

The council consists of

  • All wardens of faculties
  • The representatives of the Senate
  • The Secretaries of the Ministries that are in charge of the subjects of Buddha Sasana and Higher Education or their nominees, and
  • Tthe members appointed by the Minister of Higher Education.

The Council of our University consists of 15 members. The majority of them are monks.

The Sub-committees functioning under the Council

  • Finance Committee
  • Committee for minor procurements
  • Committee for Institutional procurements
  • Auditing and Management Committee
  • Committee reviewing progress of building construction


The Senate

The Board of Authority of the University on Education is its Senate.

Members of the Senate

The Senate of our University consists of 15 members.

  • The Vice Chancellor - Chairman of the Senate
  • The Dean of Faculty of Buddhist Studies
  • The Dean of Faculty of Language Studies
  • Heads of Departments of Studies
  • All the Professors
  • The representatives of the teachers of the Faculties.
  • The representatives of the Librarian.

The Sub-committees functioning under the Senate

  • Research Committee
  • Library Committee
  • Committee on Study Leave
  • Committee on Higher Degrees


Boards of Faculties

A Board of Faculty functions in each and every Faculty and is chaired by the warden of that Faculty.

The Board of Faculty consists of

  • Tthe Professors
  • Associate Professors
  • Senior Lecturers
  • Tthe representatives of the other academic staff of the Faculty
  • Representatives of the students and
  • The members of external Faculty Boards.

The Board of the Faculty is recognized as the basic Board of authority. It submits its recommendations to the Senate.

Administration of the University