The Senate

The Senate is the academic council of the University. Ven. Vice Chancellor functions as a member of the Senate in additions to holding the position of its Chairman. The other members of the Senate are all the Deans, Heads of the Departments all the Professors, representatives of lecturers attached to various faculties. The Senate of our University consists of 24 members.

Members of the Senate


Ven. Prof.  Neluwe Sumanawansa Thero - Performing the duties of the post

02. Deans:

  1. Dean of the Faculty of Buddhist Studies  - Senior Lecturer Ven. Ilukewala Dhammaratana Thero 
  2. Dean of the Faculty of Languages - Associate Professor Ven. Lenagala Sirinivasa Thero
  3. Dean of the Faculty of Postgraduate Studies - Ven. Prof. Moragollagama Uparathana Thero

03. Heads of Departments:

  1. Ven. Prof.  Pitigala Vijitha Thero (Head of the Department of Buddhist Philosophy)
  2. Senior Lecturer Dr. Mr. Nilantha P. Dissanayake (Head of the Department of Buddhist Culture)
  3. Senior Lecturer Ven. Dr.  Homagama Dhammananda Thero (Head of the Department of Religious Studies and Comparative Philosophy)
  4. Senior Lecturer Ven. Baragama Sadhananda Thero (Head of the Department of Archeology)
  5. Senior Professor Ven. Uthurawala Dhammaratana Thero (Head of the Department of Pali Language)
  6. Senior Lecturer Ven. Dr.  Mawathagama Pemananda Thero (Head of the Department of Sanskrit)
  7. Senior Lecturer Dr. Mrs. A.L.N.P  Perera (Head of the Department of Sinhala Language) 
  8. Senior Lecturer Dr. Mrs. Nipunika Dilani Sandamali (Head of Department of English)
  9. Senior Lecturer Mrs. Nirosha Salwathura (Head of the Department of Language Skills Development)
  10. Senior Lecturer M.H.P.K. Mr. Gunasena (Head of the Department of English Language Teaching)


Mrs. Damayanthi Gunasekara (Duty Cover)

05. Faculty Representatives:

Faculty of Buddhist Studies

  1. Senior Lecturer Ven. Dampahala Rahula Thero

Faculty of Language Studies

  1. Senior Lecturer Dr. Ven. Vitharandeniye Chandasiri Thero

06.Senior Professor / Professor

  1. Senior Professor Mr. E.A.  Wickramasinghe
  2. Ven. Prof.  Wawwe Dhammarakkitha Thero
  3. Prof. Mrs. Yamuna Herath
  4. Prof. Mrs. M.A.C.  Munasinghe
  5. Ven. Prof. Aluthgama Wimalarathana Thero

07. Appointed Members:

Ven. Prof. Medagoda Abhayathissa Thero

Ven. Prof.  Magammana Pagnananda Thero

Ven. Dr. Deniyaye Pagnaloka Thero

Prof. Mr. Samanchandra Ranasighe

Prof. Mr. Wimal Hewamanage

08.Secretary of the Senate:

Mr. R.A. Piyaratna (Registrar)

Sub Committees Functioning Under the Senate

  • Library Committee

  • Committee on Study Leave 

  • Committee on Higher Degrees

Upcoming Events



14 Jan - 31 Jan
Lecture schedule and syllabus - master of arts degree programme - 2021/2022
<b>Syllabus - (Buddhist Studies / Pali /Sanskrit/ English) a...



14 Jan - 12 Feb
List of registered students for second semester examination - january / february 2022
දෙවන සමාසික පරීක්ෂණය - 2...



14 Jan - 12 Feb
Uploading of answer sheets for the second-semester online examinations - 2022 january/ february
<b>දෙවන සමාසික මාර්ගගත ප...



13 Jan - 15 Jan
විභාග පෙරහුරුව/ mock examination
ශ්‍රී ලංකා බෞද්ධ හා ප�...



13 Jan - 10 Feb
සංශෝධනය කළ කාලසටහන - දෙවන සමාසික පරීක්ෂණය / time table - second semester examination - january / february 2022
<b>තෙවන වසර දෙවන සමාසික �...



13 Jan - 31 Jan
පළමු වසර පළමු සමාසික සමාසික පරීක්ෂණය පිළිබඳවයි/ first year first semester examinations
269 වන සනාතන සභා තීරණය පර�...

Exam Results
See latest exam results