Centre for Quality Assurance


Ven. Prof. Wawwe Dhammarakkhita Thero
Official Telephone: +94112891918
Personal Telephone: +94714906881 /  +9447224698 / 0112344088
Email Address: dwawwe@bpu.ac.lk/ dwawwe@gmail.com


  • Institutionalize a culture of quality assurance in accordance with national guidelines and international practices.
  • Ensure that the university procedures are aligned with UGC guidelines and national requirements.
  • Develop and maintain favorable public perception of the university, through improved quality of education based on consistent practice of quality assurance procedures.

Major Functions

  • Support the university and programme offering entities within the university (i.e. departments of study, faculties and institutes), in preparation for external quality assurance assessments and accreditation requirements.
  • Offer guidance and assistance to programme offering entities in defining programme objectives and outcomes, graduate profiles, and course curricular which are in accordance with national reference points such as the Sri Lanka Qualification Framework and Subject Benchmark Statements.
  • Support establishment and effective functioning of Faculty QA cells.
  • Promote and coordinate all quality assurance related activities within the university, through conduct of workshops, seminars, development of manuals and other appropriate capacity building activities.
  • Liaise with the Quality Assurance Council of the UGC and other external quality assurance agencies as well as relevant international agencies.
  • Develop, review and revise by-laws and standard operational procedures necessary for governance and management of the CQA.

Members of Senate Standing committee on Quality Assurance

  • Prof. Ven. Neluwe Sumanawansa Thero (Vice- Chancellor- covering up duties) – The President
  • Prof. Ven. Wawwe Dhammarakkhitha Thero – (Director – CQA)
  • Senior Lecturer Ven. Ilukewela Dhammarathana Thero – (Dean- Faculty of Buddhist Studies)
  • Senior Lecturer Dr. Swarnananda Gamage - (Dean- Faculty of Language Studies)
  • Prof. Ven. Moragollagama Uparathana Thero – (Dean- Faculty of Postgraduate Studies)
  • Prof. Ven. Aluthgama Wimalarathana Thero – (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Postgraduate Studies)
  • Dr. Ven. Mawathagama Pemananda Thero - (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Language Studies)
  • Senior Lecturer Ven. Omalpe Somananda Thero - (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Buddhist Studies)
  • Dr. Waruni Thennakoon - (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Postgraduate Studies)
  • Dr. Swarnananda Gamage - (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Language Studies)
  • Lecturer Ishanka Malsiri - (IQA coordinator – Faculty of Buddhist Studies)
  • Mr. E.A. Gunasena – Registrar (or nominee)
  • Mr. Sumedha Gunawardhena – Bursar (or nominee)
  • Ms. Manori Samarakoon – Assistant Senior Librarian
  • Senior Prof. Uditha Garusinghe – (Council Member)
  • Ms. Kethaki Atapaththu – Assistant Registrar (Secretary)

Non-Academic Staff

  • Ms. Kumudu Nishanthi – Management Assistant



Upcoming Events



21 May - 29 May
ප්‍රතිඵල නිකුත් කිරීම/ issuing results -november- december- 2023
2023 නොවැම්බර් සහ දෙසැම්�...



16 May - 18 May
Notice to all internal students from internal examination division
2024.05.17 දින පැවැත්වීමට නි�...



13 May - 18 May
ප්‍රතිඵල නිකුත් කිරීම/ issuing results - diploma and higher diploma in buddhist counselling courses - january 2024
2024 ජනවාරි මස පැවැති බෞද�...



09 May - 18 Jun
Notice for all internal students
2024.05.08 දිනැතිව සංශෝධන සි�...



07 May - 26 May
"online short course in english literature" 2024
The "Online Short Course in English Literature" 2024, a foun...



01 May - 10 May
විස්තරාත්මක ප්‍රතිඵල ලේඛනය ලබා ගැනීම - ශාස්ත්‍රවේදී (සාමාන්‍ය) බාහිර උපාධි පාඨමාලාව 2016 සහ 2017 අධ්‍යයන වර්ෂය
උක්ත පාඨමාලාවට අදාළව 202...

Exam Results
See latest exam results